The Pilot Project – Take 4

Hey there. Sorry it’s been so long since you heard from me.

As you may already know, my name is Andrew Stewart and I am quite a fan of television. That visual medium that broadcasts stories in a serial capacity on a (mostly) weekly basis? You know the one. Anyhoo, ever since 2011, I’ve been trying to put something together – I called it “The Pilot Project”. It was my intention to watch every new network pilot and write a blog post about each one. It was a noble goal, one which I actually started working toward, and yet nothing was ever published. I tried again in 2012. And again in 2013. To this day, not a single piece of writing has ever been published as part of the Pilot Project. This time, I intend to change that. This is my public statement – my promise to you – so you can hold me accountable. Once a week, I will publish a post detailing my thoughts and feelings on each of the new fall pilots. In the past, I’ve tried to pair this project with another, entitled “Premiere Primers”, in which I discuss the season premiere’s of shows that I follow. While I would be interested in doing this at some point, I am shelving that for now in order to get “The Pilot Project” off the ground, as I regularly bite off more than I can chew (re: Blog Brother, True Blog, Fringe Files, Canadian Horror Blog, X-Men X-amined, all the past Pilot Project attempts, etc.). I can’t guarantee you that any of these write-ups will be particularly lengthy (or even particularly short), but I’m aiming for 500-1000 words on each pilot. Any less and it’s not really worth writing, any more and I’m not going to finish. So please, help keep me accountable. I WANT to do this, but it would help a lot if people were actually reading them and encouraging and supporting me along the way. Help me help you America. Help me help you.

Here’s a schedule of when each pilot premieres:

September 17th:
– The Mysteries of Laura
– Red Band Society

September 21st:
– Madam Secretary

September 22nd:
– Forever
– Gotham
– Scorpion

September 23rd:
– NCIS: New Orleans

September 24th:
– Black-ish

September 25th:
– How to Get Away With Murder

September 30th:
– Manhattan Love Story
– Selfie

October 1st:
– Stalker

October 2nd:
– A to Z
– Bad Judge
– Gracepoint

October 5th:
– Mulaney

October 7th:
– The Flash

October 10th:
– Cristela

October 13th:
– Jane the Virgin

October 14th:
– Marry Me

October 24th:
– Constantine

October 30th:
– The McCarthys

November 17th:
– State of Affairs

I’m not sure exactly how I’m going to organize it all just yet, but you can probably expect around one blog post per week, at least for the first 3-4 weeks until things taper off in mid-October. It is my hope to have the first post up sometime next week. I hope you’re as excited as I am.

3 thoughts on “The Pilot Project – Take 4

      1. Christie Esau

        Proved yourself wrong! šŸ™‚ Also, thanks for doing the work for me so I don’t have to slog through as many crappy shows. Ha. In other news, Agents of SHIELD and Sleepy Hollow are back and I am THE HAPPIEST.

Leave a Reply

